That visit prompted us to ask Laura what has inspired her during her career, and she gave us some very personal interior design tips, which we share, below.

1. My love of fabrics started in childhood

‘I have always had a love for fabrics – even as a child I had Pierre Frey (opens in new tab) motifs decorating the walls of my room, which has deeply influenced my style. Their texture, colors and patterns are the essence of my designs, helping to make each of my projects unique, because with fabrics, the possibilities are endless.’ Select pieces by Laura are available from The Invisible Collection (opens in new tab) and 1stdibs (opens in new tab).

2. I look for an ensemble of fabrics

‘Usually, I don’t look for a specific fabric so much as for an ensemble of them, which I can combine and blend elegantly while harmonizing with the other furniture and accessories in the room.  ‘In my new Paris gallery (above), for example, I have used Schumacher (opens in new tab) fabrics to create a cozy ambience: the sofa is upholstered with a Palermo mohair and cotton velvet to lend softness, the walls covered with Tarnby Stripe in a deep coral, its unusual textured cotton weave working perfectly with the bobbly handmade Bosphore wall lights I designed with Jean Roger (opens in new tab)’s ceramic workshop in Paris.’

3. I always add a joyful burst of sunny color

‘There are always a few bright bursts of color in my design schemes: the gallery particularly reflects who I am, with its vivid orange, pink, green and yellow tones, because growing up in the sunny South of France has always given me an appreciation for light.’

4. I love to use tradition French craftspeople

‘Thanks to the very honest human relationships I have developed with craftsmen deeply immersed in traditional French decorative arts techniques, I have created wonderful pieces, such as the Beau-Jour coffee table with its enamelled hand-painted lava stone top and base woven with traditional French cord by artist Véronique de Soultrait (opens in new tab), mottled vases covered in shells by Thomas Boog (opens in new tab) and hand-painted screens with François Mascarello (opens in new tab).’

5. My aim is to create charming but welcoming spaces

‘When people walk into a space I have designed, I want it to feel warm and welcoming, somewhere they can rest while being charmed by the place. For the gallery, I have tried to give it a cheerful, vibrant vibe, like a celebration, because I believe color and pattern give rooms personality.  ‘My goal is to create spaces where there is always something to catch your eye. You will never be bored!’